Advertisement

The Care and Feeding of Yoga Teachers

topic posted Wed, December 5, 2007 - 3:27 PM by  Hxaosanto
Share/Save/Bookmark
(This sounds very business-like. I'm not normally like this; I'm into meditation, philosophy, ALL of yoga instead of "just asana", etc. But this is a practical issue, and I want input. Thanks.)

I'm a new teacher (since September 2007). One thing that I've not yet been able to understand about the "yoga industry" is how teachers - the lifeblood of the industry - are handled. It's almost as if they are an afterthought in some places.

1) I'm teaching at 3 places right now: 1 studio 2x per week; 1 studio 1x per week; and a sub at a third. Even my teacher training instructors had to teach at 3 or 4 different places to rack up enough hours per week to pay their bills. Why? Are there studios who hire a teacher part or full-time? If so, where? If not, why not?

2) The method of calculating pay varies wildly between studios, and many studios don't seem open to negotiation. One place, I get $25/hour for showing up. Another, I get $20/hour for showing up, and if there are 4 or more people; else, I get $0. Another, I get $10 per student who shows up; over 4 students, I pay $2/student to the studio. Frankly, in my opinion, if a teacher attends their scheduled class, they should get paid. It's up to the studio, in most cases, to fill the room with students.

3) Are most yoga teachers expected to do their own marketing, even if they are an employee of a studio and aren't paid for the time they market themselves and the studio? At one place, I've been asked to tell people about me, the studio, etc. Yet, I'm not paid for that effort (except for the fact that more students MAY show up). Why should I shoulder all the risk?